End of the Semester

Finally finished my first semester of grad school! Whew! It was a challenging and testing semester, but I survived. I’ve learned so much more than I had imagined and really enjoyed all of my classes in the end. There were some moments were I thought I was wasting my times, but it turned out for the best. The best part of the program has definitely been the people: awesome peers and awesome professors. It’s so refreshing to be around people who care, understand, and share your concerns about the world. It’s also great to be in a new country where they’re undergoing sort of an upheaval in the environment world. But now that I’m done, I’m shutting down my brain for the next week or so just to recover. I don’t think I’ve ever written as much as this in my life, but I’m happy to know that I can do it. Huzzah!

And now onto the fun stuff! Tom, Natasha and I have been searching high and low for a house over the past month and we finally have one! It’s a bit (actually a lot) rickety, old, and in desperate need of some level ground and paint! It sounds a bit sad doesn’t it? Well it’s cheap and right near Sydney Rd in Brunswick so key location trumps level ground lol. We got our keys today and man was it an ORDEAL! First we went to 3-4 commonwealth banks before heading to Box Hill to find an open one on a Saturday. We went to the house with our friends and it was an anti-climatic opening because the door wouldn’t open! Our keys didn’t open the door! It was deadbolted and so luckily we were resourceful and ended up breaking into the front window! Is it sad that this is the 2nd time I’ve climbed into my house through the window in the last 4 months? After climbing into the house, we had a good inspection and realized our kitchen level was totally sinking and unlevel lol. Guess we missed that when we did the inspection. Oh well! It’s a house and it has a roof, I’m quite content. Hopefully it’s not haunted because it has to be like 50+ years…I can live with unlevel grounds but not a casper.

Here are some photos of the end of the semester!


Leave a Reply

